M1 iPad Pros ๐Ÿ˜ฑ What does this mean?

ยท

3 min read

There's no doubt that the M1 showed us the power that won Craig Federighi over at WWDC 2020. It's also won me over in the last month-ish of use. Here is what I use an M1 Mac Mini for:

  • iOS App Development
  • Live Streams
  • Photo Editing
  • Video Editing

It's been great and has held up like a beast so far.

Now, Apple announced last week that the new iPad Pros were going to be built using the M1, which means the same brain from my M1 Mac mini will be in the iPad Pro. Like me, you're probably wondering, does this finally mean that my iPad can replace my laptop because I can FINALLY run Xcode on it? Unfortunately, that answer is still up in the air since Apple said NOTHING about macOS apps coming to the iPad Pros.

But the good news is that Apple did say that some solid creative pro apps like Procreate and Lumafusion will get a giant boost in performance. There are also some rumors that Apple is making a Final Cut for iPad. The issue is that not many people want an app for the iPad; they want the app from macOS on the iPad, which I think we are getting closer to, but it's going to take some time.

Even though the software, meaning lack of "pro" apps is what's hindering power users, developers, and other "pros" from entirely switching to an iPad lifestyle, the iPad Pro is now the most powerful tablet. I think by the end of the year, I'll be using an iPad instead of a MacBook Pro as my travel computer. I think by the end of the year, I'll be able to work on my iOS apps on my iPad in some fashion that will work its way nicely into my workflow.

I also think WWDC 2021 is going to be exciting. I'm guessing we will see iPadOS open up and be more Mac, which will bring Pro apps to the iPad Pro as I and many others have been wanting. We developers need to keep our eyes open, whether it's the fact that we can give people MORE features or re-architect some things, so the app works better on an M1 iPad Pro.

This announcement means people with iPad-centered apps will probably have a jam-packed summer. I think this announcement will benefit the Mac as well. If you develop an app that works fantastic on an M1 iPad, it should also work excellent on an M1 Mac. I'm hoping and would bet that this will lead to better Mac apps. Apple has already been telling developers that designing and developing a good iPad app will be the first step to a good Mac app. With both the iPad Pro and the Mac using the same brain, this will hopefully work even better/more accessible for developers.

Anyway, those are my thoughts about the M1 iPad Pro. Let me know in the comments what you think about the announcement and what you're looking forward to do with an M1 iPad Pro.

ย